AFCON U-23 : Tom Dele-Bashiru, Awoniyi and Ibrahim Sunusi make U-23 final 21 man List to Egypt


Nigeria’s U-23 coach Imama Amapakabo has released his final list of 21 players to defend Nigeria in the U-23 AFCON scheduled to take place in Egypt from November 8, to November 22, 2019.

The former Enugu Rangers International coach Imama named a 21-man list team dominated by foreign based players.

Former Arsenal midfielder Kelechi Nwakali is on the list. The 21-year-old who has struggled for form in his club footballing career has not played competitive football in the last three months.

Other notable players on the list are captain Azubuike Okechukwu from Istanbul Basaksehir. He was a bronze medalist in the 2016 Olympics Games in Rio.

Liverpool’s Taiwo Awoniyi on loan at Mainz in Germany and Watford’s Tom Dele-Bashiru are the other star players.

Dream Team VII are AFCON U23 defending Champions

The Squad:
Adamu Abubakar (Wikki Tourists), Mohammed Galadima (Nasarawa United), Kingdom Osayi (Giant Brillers)

Olisah Ndah ( Remo Stars), Samuel Atavti (Esperance Tunis, Tunisia), Valentine Azornwafor (UD Almeria, Spain), Sincere Seth (Boluspor, Turkey ), Josiah Chukwudi (Spartak Tranava, Slovakia), Anthony Izuchukwu (Nest Sotra, Norway), Bitok Stephen (FC Isloch, Belarus)

Sunusi Ibrahim (Nasarawa United), Aliyu Yau Adam (Spartak Jurmala, Latvia), Muyiwa Olabiran (Tambov, Russia), Kelechi Nwakali (Huesca, Spain), Ndifreke Effiong (Akwa United), Sunday Faleye (Wacker FC, Austria), Tom Dele-Bashiru (Watford, England), Azubuike Okechukwu (Istanbul Basaksehir, Spain)

Orji Okonkwo (Montreal Impact, Canada), Taiwo Awoniyi (Mainz 05, Germany), Bright Enobakhare (Wigan Athletic, England)

Nigeria are in same group with Ivory Coast, Zambia, and South Africa and will play their first match against Ivory Coast on the 9th of November 2019.

The top three teams will represent Africa at the Tokoyo 2020 Olympic Games.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here